Agricultural Business Club November 1st, 2007 Meeting Minutes

General Info:

The regular meeting of the Iowa State University Agricultural Business Club was held Thursday, November 1st, 2007 in 101 Carver Hall; President Matthew Clarahan called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Officer Reports:

Secretary: Secretary Sarah Gould read the minutes from the October 4th, 2007 meeting. Minutes were approved.

Treasurer: Treasurer Chris Thelen reported the current balance is \$9,652.63.

Ag. Council: Ag. Council Representative Klaire O'Rourke reminded everyone award applications are due on November 16th. Mitch Hemesath thanked everyone for a successful Ag. Week. Nathan Nedved congratulated the club on winning the Ag. Week softball tournament.

Reporters: Reporters Katie Stutsman and Matt Dirksen encouraged everyone who is not on the newsletter list to let Carol Elliott know.

Historians: Laura Larson passed around a scrapbook she put together from the past year's events.

Committee Reports:

Career Day: The Career Day Committee thanked everyone for successful Career Day.

Finance and Fundraising: Finance and Fundraising Committee informed the club they will be delivering Study Buddies during Dead Week.

Publicity: Publicity Committee thanked everyone for a successful Panel Discussion and reminded everyone to pickup the shirts they ordered.

Recruitment and Retainment: Recruitment and Retainment Committee thanked everyone for a successful club tailgate Family Weekend and announced they will be visiting Kirkwood Community College on November 6th, 2007.

Banquet: Banquet Committee reminded everyone of the Banquet coming up next spring.

Old Business:

A motion was made and carried on both the Committee Member Qualification Change and Election Procedure.

New Business:

The club will be adopting a family this Christmas. A presentation was given on AG-PAQ. Member of the Month was Andrea Ryan. Officer Elections took place and the new officers are: Matt Dirksen-President, Joel Ahrendsen-Vice President, Laura Larson-Secretary, Jodi Calvert-Treasurer, Grant Christensen- Ag. Council Rep, Melissa Thelen and Caitlin Miller- Reporters, and Missy Merwald and Michael Haden-Historians. A Quiz Bowl competition took place during the election and team #12 took home first place, team #6 second, team #1 third, and team #2 fourth.

Advisor Comments:

Dr. Edwards encouraged everyone to participate in the Study Abroad trip to Germany next May. Dr. Deiter congratulated the new officer team.

Drawings:

David Topf won \$5 for correctly guessing Michael Haden as Guess the Member. Levi Shetler won \$25 in the Wheel-of-Fortune game. Laura Bortz won the Golf Prize.