# Iowa State University Agricultural Business Club Main Meeting Minutes November 14, 2013

The regular meeting of the Iowa State University Agricultural Business Club was held Thursday November 14, 2013 in 101 Design. President Jordan Vittetoe called the meeting to order at 6:05pm. There were 111 students present.

### Officer Reports:

- Secretary: Minutes of October meeting were briefed by Lacey Hankins. Approved by Club members.
- o Treasurer: Jake Holschlag announced the current balance available \$26,606.54.
- Ag Council: Morgan Sladek will be running for CALS Exec position. We wish her best of luck. If nominated we will
  have a special election to fill her position.

### **Committee Reports:**

- Career Day: Pre-Career Day Panel went well with all five companies that were present. Dr. Kevin Kimle monitored the discussion. Career Day had 225 companies and over 2,000 students attend.
- R&R: Ice Skating and Bags Tournament went well the past couple of weeks. About 20 members at each event.

## Meet the Prof: Arne Hallam, Associate Dean Department of Liberal Arts & Sciences Administration

Dr. Hallam is the professor famously known for teaching Econ 362, Ethics in Agriculture. Arne shared with the Club members a variety of stories growing up on the farm that dealt with the theme, "What was I thinking." Hallam encouraged students to stop and think before taking action. He encouraged students to study abroad and to step out of their comfort zone to enhance their leadership skills. Before he left us, he reminded us to "Watch what you're doing before you let off the clutch."

#### **New Business:**

- Committee Co-Chair Applications: These will be located on Carol's desk in 174 Heady Hall. There are 8 committees to choose from. Applications are due Friday, December 20<sup>th</sup>, 2013
- o **Alpha Zeta:** Janelle Irwin thanked the Club for their involvement and presented us with the first traveling trophy for donating 380 pounds of canned food.
- o Member of the month: Marissa Ham for her hard work on the Recruitment and Retainment Committee.
- o New/Old Member: Trevin Kennedy, Clint Kaller
- Voting Procedure
- Officer Elections:

a. President: Beth Pleggenkuhleb. Vice President: Lacey Hankins

c. Secretary: Lauren Malecekd. Treasurer: Blake Bayliss

e. Junior Ag Council Rep: Ben Ashland

f. Reporters: Drew Mogler, Adelai Swanson

g. Historians: Andrew Luzum, Madeline Tucker

#### **Advisor Comments:**

- o Dr. Artz: Thanked the Old Exec Team for their work, and introduced new advisor in the Econ Department Amy Brandau.
- Dr Deiter: Congrats to new Exec Team. The question is asked whether leaders are born or made. Deiter firmly believes they are made by taking on these types of positions. He left us with the quote, "Leadership is an action, not a position."

#### **Drawings:**

o Guess the Member: Marcie Stevenson

Wheel of Fortune: Jensen Sandgren (\$100)

**Passing of the Gavel:** Jordan Vittetoe passed the gavel into the hand of the new Club President Beth Pleggenkuhle. **Announcements:** 

- o Committee Applications available in 174 Heady, due December 20<sup>th</sup>
- o Next meeting Thursday, December 12<sup>th</sup>, Kildee Hall

President, Beth Pleggenkuhle, adjourned the meeting at 7:24pm.